Do we see people as walking trees?

Standard

In Mark 8, Jesus heals a blind man. It isn’t however, instantaneous.. Jesus puts spit on the man’s eyes and puts His hands on him & asks, “Do you see anything?” The man replies by saying, ” I see people, they look like trees walking around” The story continues with Jesus laying His hands on the man a second time, and he is able to see clearly.

This story was highlighted in my Bible study a few weeks back on Idol Lies.. Healing and growth is a process.. and we were left with the question.. do you see people as “walking trees?” a means to an end?  or do we see them through God’s eyes.. do you love them?

“Be kind, everyone you meet is fighting a battle”.. I saw that on a park back.. I found it profound yet absolutely simple.. as different as we all are, there is so much of us that is the same.. we all need love, a place to belong, and fellowship of some sort.. but we take into our relationships, our battle.. I have been studying this for some time now.. people and their behaviors.. it began as a deep reflection of my own self and why I respond to things the way I do… and how God longs for me to respond.. I gained a lot of insight into my soul and I have come to a place a compassion for others.

The person who is angry and unkind,  verbally and physically abusive.. I have come to see that person is responding to a battle of deep insecurity.. A person who, as a child, felt unloved and unwanted….. The man whose pride and accomplishments have come at a great moral expense… who puts on a guise of character & spirituality but he’s not fooling anyone.. he’s become a mockery….  the harlot, offering herself to man after man.. desperately looking for love and belonging… coming up empty & falling deeper into her pit of despair.. and finally the prodigal, chasing after freedom, blinded to being totally enslaved..

“People do, what they do, because of what they feel” -Steve Stutzman

I long for each one to feel how loved they are by a perfect Father.. Only His love shall heal their souls and set them free.

These are all people.. not walking trees.. real people…with real pain.. fighting a real battle… I love these people.. God loves these people.. and He sent His son to set the captives free..

these are not walking trees to me, they used to be… I used to judge and avoid them.. lament about them.. but now I see them as people..

And me..?  “I was lost but now am found, was blind but now I see”… Amazing Grace

 

Leave a comment